An ongoing love affaire with all things fashionable, tasty and fun

London

This has been a whirlwind trip, lots of family time, lots of travel time and some really great experiences. Three days in London, a week in France and four days in Spain. But I wont get ahead of myself, let’s start at the beginning…

Jolly old London!

To be honest, London was a bit of a blur, we touched down Sunday afternoon and hopped on the Chunnel Tuesday night. London consisted of lots of jetlag-induced napping, some work and some seriously yummy food.

Fashion: The first thing that I noticed when I arrived in London (which was quickly echoed by my boyfriend) was that the men are EXTREMELY well dressed. Well cut suits and pressed slacks with blazers & button downs were everywhere, I only saw a handful of men in what we in America would consider “street clothes.” Needless to say, I was in heaven people watching. 🙂 As for the women, lots of flats, tights and crossbody bags. I wasn’t really blown away by the female fashion, so apologies for only touching on it briefly. For the most part they looked put together (no tennis shoes, no backpacks, no baseball caps, no gym clothes on the street…) but it wasn’t terribly memorable.

Food: I’ll dedicate a separate post to the restaurant that we went to our first night, Manna, which was absolutely spectacular. The second night’s dinner was a hodgepodge affaire after we found a Whole Foods in Soho (where, I might add, I saw Bill Nighy). Overall the food was good, but there wasn’t a huge selection of vegetarian/vegan fare, as I had expected.

Fitness: Lots of walking and that’s about it. My boyfriend took advantage of the hotel gym & pool, but between working and a bout of food poisoning I didn’t get a chance to enjoy the facilities personally.

Lodgings: We stayed at the gorgeous One Aldwych hotel in Westminster, which was walking distance to my office. The room was small (I’d forgotten that about European traveling!) but sumptuous. Overall it was a good experience, great central location and very attentive and helpful employees, I’d definitely recommend it if you’re in the mood to splurge.

Travel: We flew United (via AirCanada) from SFO to Toronto to Heathrow, took the Heathrow Express to Paddington Station and then took a taxi to the hotel. London has awful traffic though, so I would recommend public transportation if you’re traveling around the city during peak hours. Our exit from London after three chilly days was via EuroStar, and after a two-hour train ride we arrived in Paris!

Highlights: For me the highlight was dining at Manna, the food was great and it was an adorable little part of London that we probably wouldn’t have seen otherwise. I highly recommend a visit to Primrose Hill if you’re in the area! 🙂

Stay tuned for a review of Manna and my Parisian adventures.

Cheers!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: San Sebastian « Moi Contre La Vie

  2. Pingback: Paris – Oo la la « Moi Contre La Vie

Leave a Reply

