An ongoing love affaire with all things fashionable, tasty and fun

Ode To The Weekend

I hope that everyone had a lovely weekend and a fun, family/friend-filled Easter Sunday.

I don’t know about you, but I adore Easter. Whether your family dresses up for an early morning trip to church or sleeps in and brunches with mimosas, it can be a truly a fun, carefree holiday. The weather is just starting to improve, you have an excuse to gather the family together, mimosas are always on the menu, and, did I mention the chocolate?

Easter is pretty much second only to Halloween when it comes to chocolate.

But I shouldn’t get ahead of myself… I was lucky enough to have Friday off work and my boyfriend and I had a delicious lunch with my cousins who live in South San Francisco at Green’s Restaurant, one of my favorite places to eat in the city.

Greens is a vegetarian institution inside Fort Mason in the Marina – they have a creative, tasty menu that changes with the seasons, an eye-catching interior, and gorgeous views.

Added bonus? We saw Jared Leto in the back! 🙂

After wandering around the Marina all day Friday, Saturday was, in a word, lazy. It was glorious! We ate. We watched our Netflix movies. We went to bed early. End of story.

The highlight was definitely the breakfast Sean made me – peanut butter oats w/ banana slices & vegan chocolate chips that melted right after I snapped this picture. Tasty! Baking classes at online universities can also teach you how to create sandwich cookies with creamy peanut butter filling.

P.S Powdered peanut butter is our new obsession, the bag that I opened Wednesday was half gone by the end of this weekend.

We watched The Immortals, which finally arrived from Netflix, and we both found it entertaining. I love mythology and historically based films so I enjoyed it – despite the inaccuracies. All the shirtlessness probably didn’t hurt. 🙂

Quite the cast too – Henry Cavill, Mickey Rourke, Stephen Dorff, Luke Evans, Freida Pinto, Isabel Lucas, and Kellan Lutz.

Sunday we jumped out of bed bright and early and immediately started cooking, cleaning,running errands, and laundry-ing. Finally we headed out to Los Altos for Easter Brunch with my Bay Area family.

So. Much. Fun.

Great food. TONS of laughing and story telling and catching up. And as always, a gorgeous setting at my Auntie’s storybook house.

But the highlight had to be watching my 20-something cousins sprint wildly around the backyard hunting for brightly colored plastic eggs, giant Easter baskets in hand.

The competition was fierce for the money-filled egg and we were all practically in tears from laughing by the time the words “if he showed you where the golden egg was he’s dead to me,” were uttered. 🙂

The weekend ended up being the perfect combination of fun, relaxation, and family time. Which is a good thing since we have every weekend booked from now until mid-June.

Le sigh.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: A Week In MCLV Style « Moi Contre La Vie

  2. Pingback: Looks of the Week « Moi Contre La Vie

  3. Holly

    Every weekend from now until June…oh sigh! That makes me feel overwhelmed already! 🙂 Looks like this weekend one a blast though.

    April 10, 2012 at 9:35 AM

Leave a Reply

