An ongoing love affaire with all things fashionable, tasty and fun

A Week In MCLV Style

Happy Wednesday!

I got really encouraging and positive feedback from you guys after my last personal style post so I’m thinking about making it a semi-regular series. It’s a little nerve-wracking to share photographs of yourself online and incredibly challenging to take those photographs yourself, so I appreciate all the support on this little project!

Hopefully I’ll be able to keep my camera handy and share some outfit photos a few times a month going forward. This should also help me with my own personal style journey and keeping me on track to expand my horizons style-wise.

So without further ado…

Dress: Priorities (ordered from Gilt.com), Sunglasses: Christian Dior, Heels: MaddenGirl, Bag: Vintage Gucci, Rings: BCBG & Bracelet: World Market (Random right? I saw it one day and just had to have it!)

I put this look together to celebrate the first truly warm Spring day last week (before the rain returned… pout) and when I reached into my closet this dress seemed to spring (get it?) out. Since the dress is made of terry cloth it’s actually fairly warm so it’s perfect for a breeze Spring day. I had originally planned for this to be a bathing suit coverup because of the fabric but it’s a great color and length, and I really love the bright military-style buttons.

Dress: H&M, Pashmina: H&M, Boots: Zara, Bag: Gucci, Bracelet: Asos.com & Rings: BCBG & vintage.

*Ignore the goofy smile please! 🙂

A basic, solid-colored shift dress is a very common go-to for me on weekends or after work during the week. Perfect for Spring and easy to accessorize. We all have outfits that we love and repeat, but I also think it’s important to know what works for you and stock up on basics that can easily be slapped together for quick but stylish looks.

These boots were one of an embarrassing number of pairs of shoes I’ve bought so far this year, when I saw them at Zara I knew they had to be mine. I really like the contrasting wooden-looking heel and the laces give them an interesting twist. They had them in black but I’m glad that I went with this neutral grey-tan color, they’ve been pretty versatile and I’ve worn them with pants, skirts, and dresses so far.

Sweater: Banana Republic, Tunic: H&M, Boots: Chinese Laundry, Bag: Kate Spade, Rings: JewelMint & Vintage, Bracelet: Asos.com, Necklaces: JewelMint, Sunglasses: Forever 21 & Leggings: Victoria’s Secret

I was getting ready for lunch with my cousin and was actually planning to wear ballet flats with this outfit when my boyfriend picked out these over-the-knee boots. We walked from the apartment in North Beach to the Marina, through Fort Mason and over the hill in the middle of Fort Mason Greens, and I can say that these boots really held up. Especially since we wandered around the Marina for a couple of hours after lunch as well.

And some quick work looks…

Dress: Banana Republic, Shoes: Lauren by Ralph Lauren, Bracelets: JewelMint, Rings: Vintage & Tiffany’s, and Necklace: from the pearl market in Manila.

 

I frequently wear dresses to work, they’re easy and there’s no matching drama – which never ends well at 4am. Believe me. My most common shopping destinations for work dresses are BCBG, Banana Republic, and Zara. Once you know what you like its easy to zip in and out without the hassle of trying things on in poorly lit dressing rooms…

I call this my Sargent Pepper coat! 🙂 I got it at H&F years and years ago and it recently reappeared in the line-up. Dress: Burberry, Heels: Zara, and Jewelry: JewelMint.

My newest JewelMint purchases… I don’t always love their stuff but I’ve been really lucky to find some great pieces that I wear again and again.

I love this little Burberry dress, I wore it to death when I first got it last year. When I wear it to work I usually wear tights but I clearly forgot them this day. I really love these T-strap heels, they’re incredibly easy to walk in because of the thick heel and really versatile – they look cute with jeans and can go from work to drinks no problem.

Wrap dress: Diane Von Furstenberg, Blazer: Aqua, Shoes: Very Volatile, Earrings: Vintage, Bracelets: Express, JewelMint & Forever 21, Necklaces: JewelMint and Rings: JewelMint & Forever 21.

My office dress code is business casual so suits are not called for on a regular basis, but sometimes I like to be a little formal and adding a blazer to a dress or a pants outfit is the perfect “cheat.” It looks very sleek, but is quick and easy to put together.

Lessons I’ve Learned: I mentioned before that I’m trying to branch out (Street Style Cool) in my personal style and while I obviously enjoyed wearing the outfits above, clearly I need to focus on changing things up. Lots of black, lots of dresses here. Its time to spice things up, add some color and patterns to the mix on a more regular basis, and experiment with new silhouettes and separates.

*Cameos by Bones, the cat who refuses to get out of my light. 🙂

One response

  1. Pingback: Rain Rain Go Away… « Moi Contre La Vie

Leave a Reply

