An ongoing love affaire with all things fashionable, tasty and fun

MCLV’s Handbag

What do you keep in the purse that you carry around on a daily basis?

While I am in the habit of changing my purse a few times a week, the contents of my bag do not change. There are things that I jut can’t live without and there are things that I use every single day without fail.

This probably explains why I carry such a large bag everywhere… I have many, many essentials.

Alright, let’s just go ahead and wade through them now.

First and foremost among the contents of my bag in terms of importance is my planner. I couldn’t function without it. Not for a single day. I get nervous when I go out to dinner with a clutch and wonder throughout the evening if I’ll need it. And to be honest, sometimes I do. My calendar, importance phone numbers and addresses, passwords, account numbers, to do lists, reminders, post-it notes, receipts, packing lists, dry cleaning and tailor reminder slips… Anything and everything that I could possibly need during the day.

In addition to my planner I care a handful of folders and a notepad with me. I print and write out recipes, workouts, physical therapy sessions, and ideas for blogging almost daily and carry new and old versions. And in addition to those I carry a notebook to jot down note on my reading, research, outline posts that I’m planning, journal, plan conversations and emails…

You know all of the little odds and ends that you stuff into the back pocket of your purse? Chapstick and compacts and pencils? Rather than risk loosing something or leaving things I need behind when I transfer the contents of my bag to another, I got this cute Lacoste pouch to keep all the little miscellaneous pieces in. Not only am I more organized, I can find things faster too!

 

Burt’s Bees chapstick, lip gloss, nail file, mini roll-in Coco Mademoiselle, Laura Mercier compact, and the most important item in here, my emergency sunscreen. This little thing comes in handy a lot!

Pens, pencils, and a highlighter have saved me more than I can say. I take notes, do research, write down what I’m thinking, and jot down ideas when they come to me. All day. Every day. The life of a writer I guess. I also keep a business card case so that I have some of my own cards on hand and also so that I can keep track of the cards that I’m given. That’s a little trick I’ve picked up over the years, I used to immediately lose all the cards I was handed and it never goes well if you can’t remember the names of the people who took the time to sit down with you. Trust me.

I couldn’t live without music. I listen to Pandora all day at work and on my laptop when I get home. And for in between I have an mp3 player. I also cart around what seems like an endless supply of tiny miscellaneous items – bobby pins, paper clips, hair ties, safety pins, buttons that have fallen off my clothes… You never know when you’ll need them!

I change my wallet a couples times of year, eventually I get so sick of seeing the same thing every day that I put it back in its little box and pull out another one. I’m currently in a Goyard state of mind though. 🙂

I’ve been using this camera for a little over a year now, I got it just as I was starting this little passion project and wanted something better than the tiny clutch-appropriate digital camera I’d been using for years. My father’s been a photographer for as long as I can remember – growing up our rolls of film always came back with more pictures of birds, trees, and flowers than they did with pictures of my brother and I – so I always go to him with my camera inquiries. I’m hoping to upgrade soon though!

More basics that a girl just can’t live without… This makeup bag was a gift from Arianna when she went to London this last time and since Harrods is yet another thing that I love about London, I was beyond thrilled for this little keepsake.

My babies. One for work. One for play. I just switched my personal device from my much-loved Samsung Epic with its luxurious full keyboard to this super thin Galaxy and I’m definitely still adjusting. Isn’t it amazing how set in our ways we can get?

And last but not least…

My apartment keys – can you believe that there are four of them, I mean really, is that necessary? And the keys to my new car! If you’re not following me on Twitter than *surprise* I bought my very first car this weekend. Ya!

This post was inspired by my previous posts that gave you a look into MCLV’s Medicine Cabinet and MCLV’s Makeup Bag, as well as Style Scrapbook’s My Bag Essentials.

So tell me – What are YOUR essentials?

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Beauty Product Lovin’ « Moi Contre La Vie

  2. Pingback: MCLV’s Medicine Cabinet « Moi Contre La Vie

  3. I loved this post! Call me nosey but I love seeing what people carry around on a day to day basis. I like to pack lighter for my day to day wear ( I say ‘like to’ because i often fail) but as a university student, there’s massive backpack days 😦 I’ll have to check outthe other posts you reccomended 🙂

    May 27, 2012 at 8:28 PM

Leave a Reply

