An ongoing love affaire with all things fashionable, tasty and fun

IFBCON Preparation

Happy Labor Day! Is everyone enjoying their long holiday weekend? I spent most of last week and this weekend preparing for my four-day trip to New York City – Packing, styling, shopping, freaking out…

Think you’ve ever been under pressure to pack some fabulous looks for a trip? Try styling outfits for a trip to the annual IFB Conference – i.e. two full days with some of the greatest fashion bloggers out there, frequent guests on my Looks of the Week posts, and serious girl crushes.

OHMYGODWHATSHOULDIWEAR???

That’s the sentiment that’s been running through my mind – on repeat – since I bought my ticket for this event. First world problem for sure.

I started the looong process by taking inventory of my closet, making a tentative shopping list, and then I spent a few blissful hours researching online for the Weekends Away – Styling, Deciding & Packing post that I published on Saturday. It was fun to read through everyone’s tips and ideas while I was making a To Do List for myself, it made the process very streamlined and effective.

First up, toiletries.

I went through my make up, bags of mini beauty products, the contents of my medicine cabinet, and my ready-to-go toiletry kit and paired it down to the necessities. I ended up with one bag filled with standard toiletries, one ziplock for my liquids, and a second bag for miscellaneous things specific to this trip – Sleeping mask, ear plugs, band aids, hair ties & products, travel sewing kit, mini lint roller…

{Bones making my life more difficult helping}

I’m planning to spend all of Monday (today) wandering the streets of New York, watching NYFW take form, exploring, and taking photographs of one of my favorite cities. My best friend moved here immediately after college and I’ve made a pilgrimage out each year to visit him and each trip still reveals something new and exciting about this city.

This trip has involved carting around more electronics than any other vacation or business trip that I can remember having taken before. Scary! In addition to my new Rebel I packed a backup camera, extra lenses, a laptop, cellphone & Blackberry, and the obligatory host of chargers, batteries, and cords.

Then it was time to choose my clothes for the trip – I put together, styled & accessorized a look for each day of my trip, taking into account travel time, temperature, and the itinerary for that day. I’m usually a highly effective packer so I was a little shocked by the sheer volume of pieces that I laid out to take with me. Including two extra handbags, four pairs of shoes, and an entire extra outfit. Just in case.

Shoes Shoes Shoes! I wanted to bring heels for the  two days I’ll spend at the conference but I can’t seem to go anywhere without my skull adorned Steve Madden Smoking Slippers these days.

It’s getting really serious you guys, I think I’m in love.

Stuffing it all into my extra-large Longchamp le Pliage bag was quite the challenge as well. I don’t love having an overstuffed bag, I prefer having some extra room when I travel, but I couldn’t bring myself to take anything out!

I never check bags when I fly so I also had to separate what I’d need on the plane so that I could put it in my purse that would be under my feet. Laptop, camera, notepads & pencils, music, a pashmina, and snacks snacks snacks – an apple, a peach, a ziplock full of baby carrots, and Larabars.

Stay tuned for daily posts & updates during this amazing trip – Follow me for up-to-the-minute updates, photos, fabulous fashion shots, and more!

  • Instagram – You can follow me on Instagram @moicontrelavie
  • Twitter You can follow me on Twitter @moicontrelavie
  • Pinterest – You can follow my Pinterest boards here
  • FacebookYou can LIKE my Facebook page here
7 responses

  1. Pingback: Travel Time: NYC & IFBCON « Moi Contre La Vie

  2. Pingback: Week 2: Day 1 | teachinstyle.com

  3. Pingback: MCLV Style: New York City « Moi Contre La Vie

  4. Pingback: New York Fashion Diary « Moi Contre La Vie

  5. Pingback: MCLV Style: IFBCON Day 1 « Moi Contre La Vie

  6. Pingback: Week 2: Day 1 « Teach in Style

  7. This is very nice, like your skull slippers!

    xo
    Henar
    http://www.ohmyvogue.com

    September 3, 2012 at 2:20 PM

Leave a Reply

