An ongoing love affaire with all things fashionable, tasty and fun

{Guest Post} Fashion of the Fitness World

After her introduction two weeks ago – Guest Post: Women’s Health – I’m sure you’re dying to hear what comes next so without further ado please welcome back Megan from Kaia FIT Sacramento.

Part 1: Fashion of the Fitness World

I’m sure there are many people who laugh at the thought of fashion in a gym setting. And, in some ways, I’m envious of that. Most days I’d love to throw on some comfy pants and a baggy shirt… But that just doesn’t work for my kind of workout.

To run, jump, climb ropes, flip tires, swing kettlebells, and do burpees until I want to vomit, I need gym apparel that does a few very important things! 1) STAYS ON. I hate nothing more than having to pull my pants up or adjust my top. 2) LASTS. I wear gym apparel every day and I need it to last wash after wash. 3) IS FLATTERING. Going to the gym is motivated by feeling and looking good. For as hard as we work during our daily workouts, I’m a firm believer that we should feel confident while we do them!

Kaia

I’m not saying anyone needs to wear perfectly matching Lululemon outfits every day (although I’m certainly a fan of their products) or that the way you look in the gym even matters. Many of our girls at Kaia FIT look forward to their hour in the gym as the one hour they can sweat it out and be free to grunt, groan and throw their hair up in a bun. And I love that.

But here’s an interesting observation I’ve made during my time at Kaia FIT. Most women walk into the gym for their first time in some old workout pants and a baggy sweatshirt (including me). But after some time, whether it’s because we all realize we’re tired of our pants falling down or because we’re feeling more confident, we graduate into some new workout clothes. It’s a great moment when I see a woman walk into the gym in a new outfit. She holds her head a little higher because she knows she deserves to wear that outfit. She has shown up everyday, lost a few pounds, and gained a whole lot of strength and self-love… And that outfit says so!

KaiaIII

Fashion in the fitness world… Does it really exist? Sure it does. But not because you’re on a runway while you do your workout or that any of us really notice what color your top is. Instead, the fashion that exists in the gym is often the sign of hard work, reward, and confidence gained… And those things will never go out of style.

Coming up: Food… The Daily Battle

What did you think of that? I don’t know about you but I get inspired to hit the gym when I get new workout gear and get motivated when I set a goal with a trip to Lulu as the reward. In the market for some new duds? Check out my Workout Gear vs Streetwear post for some of my picks for the gym!

8 responses

  1. Pingback: Beginners Fitness: All About Medicine Balls | Moi Contre La Vie

  2. Pingback: Beginners Fitness: All About Kettlebells | Moi Contre La Vie

  3. Pingback: Beginners Fitness II: All About Kettlebells | Moi Contre La Vie

  4. Pingback: {Fitness Friday} Guest Post: Food & The Daily Battle « Moi Contre La Vie

  5. Pingback: Links You’ll Love « Moi Contre La Vie

  6. Oh yeah!!! Like I wrote in my post…if you like what you see, you´re more likely to come back!!! Make-up and fashion in the gym is a must…just like water and music!!
    Love the post!!!

    http://jezzdallasmakeup.blogspot.com/

    January 18, 2013 at 12:32 PM

    • I’m glad you like the post – It goes so well with yours! 🙂

      January 18, 2013 at 2:03 PM

  7. I am a strong believer in looking stylish while working out 😉 A workout gets so much better if the outfit is right. Like to mix and match, that way the workout gets perfect.

    January 18, 2013 at 12:07 PM

Leave a Reply

