An ongoing love affaire with all things fashionable, tasty and fun

My New Weekends

While I’m a San Francisco girl through-and-through, I have been spending most of my weekends in Sacramento lately. My boyfriend and his two amazing business partners opened a barbell gym in Sacramento {Capitol City Strength & Conditioning} so I’ve been playing photographer on the weekends while everyone competes in the CrossFit Games Open.

CrossFitGames

And while I did grow up in Sacramento I haven’t spent much time there since I graduated from high school – I headed straight to Berkeley and never looked back. Experiencing this city again as an “adult” is pretty interesting since my memories are so outdated – I don’t remember where things are, can’t find anything, and my own house was even torn down!

What I want to share with you today is a little peek into how I’ve been keeping myself busy in this “new” city of mine…

Discovering new photo backgrounds:

SacramentoCollage

Since I didn’t want the blog to suffer I’ve been having a friend shoot me in Sacramento on Saturdays and then the boy {my usual photographer} has been shooting me on Sundays when he drops me off at the train station.

Enjoying my new gym:

Having access to top-notch gym facilities on weekends is a huge bonus of my weekends in Sacramento.

UnicornI

I’m really consistent with my workouts and physical therapy during the week. Really consistent. But I rarely workout or even stretch on weekends, and I’m usually suffering for it by Mondays so adding in some mild exercise on weekends at Cap City is great!

Studying/writing/working on the train/bus/in coffee shops:

Lugging my laptop and all the cords & accessories necessary to work on weekends back and forth between San Francisco and Sacramento makes me extremely glad that I upgraded to this mini Lenovo last year.

Traveling

I’m hoping to try out a new laptop or a tablet in the coming months though so definitely let me know if you have any rave reviews to share. Or disappointments.

Stay tuned for all of my travel must haves!

So tell me – Do you spend a lot of time in any cities that you’re not living in full-time?

5 responses

  1. Pingback: March Round-Up | Moi Contre La Vie

  2. It’s fun going back to your hometown as an adult — I’ve done that too, and it’s awesome seeing my old stomping grounds through a new lens!

    March 23, 2013 at 2:43 PM

    • Where’s your hometown Lillian? 🙂

      March 23, 2013 at 3:03 PM

      • Colorado Springs – it’s about an hour south of Denver. It’s changed a lot since I left, so it’s always cool to go back and see what’s happening there!

        March 24, 2013 at 5:00 AM

      • LOVE Colorado Springs, such a beautiful place. It’s nice to know someone else understands the whole “seeing a city through different eyes” perspective, I get a lot of “but you grew up here” comments when I get lost! 🙂

        March 24, 2013 at 7:23 AM

Leave a Reply

