An ongoing love affaire with all things fashionable, tasty and fun

Fitness Friday: Workout Q & A

Some of the most frequent questions that I get are about my gym routine and workout gear so I decided to answer a few of them today to celebrate Fitness Friday. Read on for some details of my fitness regime, my favorite gear, and my tips & suggestions to get started with a new routine and stay motivated.

SpringWorkouts

Q: It’s always dark in your gym pictures – What time do you work out?

A: 4:30am – Ouch, I know. But I have long, hectic days and by afternoon I’m usually exhausted and unmotivated. It’s all about finding what works for you, I for one am most motivated first thing in the morning. {You can check out more of my routine in MCLV In 24 Hours}

Q: What do you do at the gym?

A: As I’m still recovering from a back injury I do physical therapy Monday through Friday, in addition to that I’ve begun adding a circuit training/weight lifting workout 3-4 days a week. Medicine balls & kettlebells are favorites of mine {see Beginners Fitness: Kettlebells and Beginners Fitness: Medicine Balls} and I love body weight moves like pull-ups, squats, lunges, planks & push-ups.

Q: What’s your number one fitness tip?

A: Walk! Add walking to your daily routine and you’ll see great results – From stress reduction to weight loss. Start with whatever you can and just keep adding on! {Guest Post: Low-Intensity Fasted Cardio}

WorkoutGear

{Left: Zella Tank – $42 @ Nordstrom, Center: Nike Sports Bra – $30 @ Macys & Right: Workout Capri – $18 @ Forever 21}

Q: Do you have a favorite workout clothing brand? What do you usually wear?

A: If I like something I’ll grab it, I’m not really married to any one brand. Some of my favorites include Lululemon Capri pants, bright, Spring-ready tanks from Zella for Nordstrom, Old Navy & Zara t-shirts, Nike sports bras, Victoria’s Secret PINK boyshorts/hiphuggers, and Brooks running shoes.

Q: What’s your number one tip on choosing workout gear?

A: Being comfortable and confident in your gym clothing is important, as is not having to adjust your garments mid-workout. Find pieces that suit your body type and, more importantly, that you feel good in. If you’re cringing when you catch sight of yourself in the mirror or constantly pulling at your sports bra or t-shirt, you’re wearing the wrong gear!

Stay tuned another Q&A session on health and nutrition and don’t forget to follow Moi Contre La Vie on Instagram (@Moicontrelavie).

15 responses

  1. I write a leave a response when I especially enjoy a post on a website
    or if I have something to contribute to the conversation.
    Usually it is triggered by the sincerness displayed in the article I read.

    And on this article Fitness Friday: Workout Q & A | Moi Contre La Vie.
    I was excited enough to post a thought 🙂 I do have some questions for you if it’s okay. Could it be simply me or does it appear like a few of the remarks come across like written by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online social sites, I’d like to keep up with
    anything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list the complete urls of all your
    social sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    April 18, 2013 at 3:57 PM

  2. Hey there! I’ve been reading your site for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the great job!

    April 17, 2013 at 6:15 PM

  3. Great post! Very useful before the summer! Love your blog by the way you have a new stalker!!

    SSSx
    http://www.stylestreetstalker.com

    April 14, 2013 at 2:27 PM

  4. Pingback: Links You’ll Love | Moi Contre La Vie

  5. This is such a great post!! I admire you!! 🙂

    Style Without Limits
    Facebook

    April 13, 2013 at 4:32 PM

  6. thinacruz

    OMG, I so admire you for your commitment! I can’t even get up at 6 am all the more 4:30 am! I salute you!!!

    April 13, 2013 at 6:59 AM

  7. ja do treningu nie umiem sie zabrac;(

    April 12, 2013 at 10:54 AM

  8. great tips! Love your workout gear choices as well ❤

    April 12, 2013 at 10:04 AM

  9. I don’t think I could work out early in the morning, I’m just pretty lazy when it comes to gym 😦 However, i shall start working out to achieve amazing result!

    April 12, 2013 at 7:38 AM

  10. 4.30AM in the morning?? Wow, that´s quite impressive. Good job!

    April 12, 2013 at 5:17 AM

Leave a Reply

